Samantha Powell speaking at the Collin County Democratic Party's Ann Richards Dinner in October 2019

2019 Ann Richards Dinner a Smashing Success

October 31, 2011

“The best Ann Richards Dinner I’ve ever attended.”

“Ambassador Power was amazing.”

“Had a great time. Very inspiring.”

These are just a few of the things people said to me the other evening. If you weren’t at our annual Ann Richards Dinner last Friday night you really missed out! The proceeds from this event will give us a good start on our 2020 Victory Fund!

Former UN Ambassador Samantha Power delivered a keynote that was enlightening and motivational. One of the key themes was “shrinking the change” – the idea that when things seem overwhelming and we’re asking what one person can do, we should shrink the problem down to something we can work on – fixing a piece of it.  Her perspective on domestic politics influencing international relations couldn’t have been more timely.

One of the highlights of the evening was the awarding of our first ever Kelley Van Auken volunteer of the year award. See this week’s Rally for details.

Finally, we want to thank all our volunteers who helped stage this event, and our sponsors:

Governor Ann Sponsor

  • Sommerman, McCaffity, Quesada & Geisler, LLP
  • Jeff Tillotson and Tillotson Law

Barbara Jordan Sponsor

  • Kathy and Jack Kennedy

Eddie Bernice Johnson Sponsor

  • Pat Davis
  • Sally O’Brien
  • Judge Bonnie Goldstein
  • Mark Phariss & Vic Holmes
  • Manu Lail for Collin County Democratic Party Chair
  • Collin County Young Democrats

Sheila Jackson Lee Sponsor

  • Rocio Hernandez for Texas House District 67
  • Robin and John Caldwell
  • Sharon Hirsch for Texas House District 66
  • Diane and Bill Bolak
  • Juley and Lee Welch and Tarek Lucien Radjef
  • Mike and Diana Rawlins
  • Jim and Linda Foy
  • Lorenzo Sanchez for Texas Representative HD 67
  • Little Woods Capital Advisors, LLC.
  • The Catharine Elizabeth Laney Trust
  • Women of Color – Mita Guhu, Vielka Harrison, Charlotte McKenzie and Blondene Taite
  • Hamilton Wingo, LLP
  • Lulu Seikaly for Congress

Molly Ivins Sponsor

  • Rebecca Arredondo – SD8 Committeewoman
  • Janet and Robert Miller
  • Tom Adair For Texas House District 67
  • Jeanie and Tom Lemons
  • HD89 Democrats
  • William Newbill, J.D.
  • JC Puckett
  • Justice Bill Pedersen, III
  • Barb Walters
  • Dr. Jeanne Curtis
  • Melissa Hewson
  • Michael & Catherine Casavant
  • McKinney Area Democrats
  • Dallas County Democratic Party Chair Carol Donovan
  • Judge Dennise Garcia
  • Judge Craig Smith for Justice
  • Karri Bertrand – O’Neil Wysocki Family Law
  • Sam Johnson for 366th District Court
  • Murray and Mike Leaf

by Mike Rawlins CCDP Chair